polewcancer.blogg.se

Autohotkey alternative for mac
Autohotkey alternative for mac






autohotkey alternative for mac autohotkey alternative for mac

On the plus side, however, after a few weeks of this on Windows, I booted into a FreeBSD desktop and could navigate the system pretty well :) Some more details here: īeing able to map any menu item for any app in the Keyboard pref pane, Shortcuts tab by typing the exact label (case sensitive) is crazy. It's painful and I miss the macOS consistency a lot. I'm trying to retrain my hands and adapt to the non-macOS shortcuts. Recently, though, and because that setup is problematic at times and because I decided to remove macOS altogether from my machine. You can see my AHK configuration here if you are interested in adopting something similar: For months, I fought those and tried to use macOS-like shortcuts on Windows. The different shortcuts on Windows were and still are super-painful. Until I tried to actually move off of macOS last year.

autohotkey alternative for mac

I like how someone else described the "right side of the keyboard" as "keyboard Siberia" - I have not touched it for years and have not missed any of those special keys in minimalistic keyboards that don't have them. And the pervasive Emacs-like text navigation shortcuts throughout the system are productivity boosters. something that you can't appreciate until you experience it. The dedicated Cmd key for most operations (which doesn't conflict with, say Ctrl+C in the terminal) is super-convenient. but once you have bought into them, they are kind of thing that turn into a deal-breaker when trying to move away from macOS. The macOS shortcuts seem like an easy thing to dismiss.








Autohotkey alternative for mac